P o r t i a 247



One of my greatest Achievements..

4682393_44fe4eab9c_1

Months of intense training, practicing hours each day, sore muscles, broken boards, sweat, white uniforms, and several belts conquered. It took all those and more to accomplish my greatest achievement was receiving my first degree black belt in Tae-Kwon-Do. I was only fifteen years old when I received my black belt in the summer of 2001. It seems like so long ago that I achieved this dream of mine, but the day I can still remember greatly.

I always dreamt of practicing martial arts. I always told my dad “I’m going to be a black belt one day and no one will be able to mess with me!” I wasn’t the only one who wanted to achieve that goal. My sister wanted to as well. My dad decided to enroll my sister and I and then decided to join us in the experience. I think having my sister and dad along pushed me to achieve my goal more and pushed me to perform my best.

In Tae-Kwon-Do it takes approximately two months each in the

United States

to test for a new belt. I went through around nine or ten different belts to reach the black belt. Each month the skills/steps/intensity increased. There were so many different forms to learn as well as steps. For each belt there is a different form. As the belt increases the form increases in difficulty. At times I thought to myself will I be able to make it? I got so mixed up with all the steps and the correct positions. I guess it was a learning phase. Because soon I was teaching lower belts how to perform their forms. I was teaching forty to eighty year olds how to perform their steps correctly. In that way I feel proud of myself. I feel proud because my instructor saw my ability and through my ability allowed me to teach lower belts.

I was in middle school and highs school at the time of my Tae-Kwon-Do training. I was involved in many activities like track, cross-country, student council, Spanish club etc, plus I had my school work. At times it was difficult to keep up with everything. I would have to run from a track meet to a martial arts class, and then go home to do homework. I think shooting for that goal to get my black belt made me stay on task and manage my time properly.

I went through months upon months of training. I trained during the warmest months, where I would be sweating up a storm. I remember days where I felt like I was going to die of heat stroke when having a sparring match. I went through many injuries and bruises. I sparred against the largest guys (6ft guys) and I am only 5’3. I loved seeing their faces struggling while sparring against them. I was really fast and always had many types of moves to trick them with.

Receiving my black belt was one of my greatest achievements because it proved to myself that I could really achieve anything if I put my mind to it. I remember my friends saying “are you sure you can do it?” and some of my guy friends saying “ah you’re a girl …those guys are going to beat you up!” Well I proved them wrong and I got my black belt. I achieved a child hood goal. I am also happy that now if put in the wrong situation I am able to defend myself with better techniques and am better educated on martial arts.

 


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Farzad says:

    BRAVO 🙂
    I’m very impressed darling. Getting a black belt is not easy at all.
    I make sure not to mess with U 🙂
    Congratulation Portia … Cheers 🙂

    | Reply Posted 18 years, 7 months ago
  2. * mOE says:

    jeegar I know Achieve alot in your life and I know if you want something you will get it no matter what !

    | Reply Posted 18 years, 7 months ago
  3. * Moji says:

    wow, thats quite an achivement. When i was in iran i trained so hard to get into the national team for swimming, it was worth it coz i made it, but its sad coz i had to quit becuase of my other commitments. And now i cant even swim a lap :D….anyways congrats to u portia… i agree with agha farzad, ill make sure not to mess with u 😀

    | Reply Posted 18 years, 7 months ago
  4. * zaas says:

    Nice looking site.f

    | Reply Posted 16 years, 8 months ago
  5. * Maximus says:

    I would like to see a continuation of the topic

    | Reply Posted 16 years, 4 months ago
  6. * sandrar says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    | Reply Posted 14 years, 7 months ago
  7. * mercy says:

    You bitch..!!

    | Reply Posted 13 years, 10 months ago
  8. Sign: zdbrw Hello!!! cwrmq and 9356tswzaxmetv and 7291 : Cooooool blog really

    | Reply Posted 13 years, 8 months ago


Leave a comment